News Ticker

Cowboy Wrestling Wraps Up Opening Weekend at Journeymen Collegiate Classic

TROY, N.Y.  – The Oklahoma State wrestling team finished its first full weekend of the 2017-18 season Sunday afternoon at the Journeymen Collegiate Classic.

The Cowboys posted several impressive performances throughout the lineup amongst a talented field, which featured more than 20 ranked grapplers and a number of top-25 teams. Overall, OSU wrapped up the day with five wrestlers winning titles in their respective divisions, along with four second-place finishers.

Seeing his first true action of the season, redshirt sophomore Nick Piccininni went 3-0 on the day to take the 125A title. After opening his season with a 16-1, first-period technical fall over Lock Haven’s Josiah Kline, the East Setauket, N.Y., native dropped Trey Chalifoux of Army, 10-4, to advance to the final. In his final match, Piccininni dropped Virginia Tech’s Kyle Norstrem, 7-3.

Dean Heil and Mike Magaldo swept the 141-pound divisions, with Heil taking the A group and Magaldo winning B. Both Cowboys went 3-0 on the day. Heil, opening with a 15-0 tech fall over Lock Haven’s Todd Lane and a 5-0 win over American’s Jack Mutchnik, dropped Lehigh’s Luke Karem, 8-0, in the finals. Magaldo tallied decisions over Kizhan Clarke of American and Pete Lipari of Rutgers to advance to the final where he would win, 7-5, over Virginia Tech’s Brent Moore.

OSU also posted a perfect day at the 149-pound weight class to take a couple of titles there as well. Geo Martinez posted an impressive win in an 8-1 triumph over No. 4 Solomon Chishko in the A division finals to follow up a 45-second pin of No. 17 Ronnie Perry and a decision over American’s Michael Sprague. Tristan Moran picked up a ranked win in the B division as well, dropping No. 18 Jamal Morris of NC State by way of 19-7 major decision to advance to the final that he would go on to win over Kent State’s Nicholas Monico, 6-3.

Redshirt sophomore Kaid Brock finished second in the 133A division after a wild finish in the final gave No. 4 Scott Parker of Lehigh the win. Brock led, 7-3, with seconds remaining in the match, but Parker was able to score a takedown and four-point nearfall before the buzzer sounded to win, 9-8. Brock went 2-1 on the day with a fall over Virginia Tech’s Ryan Haskett in the opening bout of the morning, followed by a 7-2 win over Kent State’s Anthony Tutolo.

Chandler Rogers had a wild finish in the 165B finals as well, giving up a takedown in the final five seconds to Virginia Tech’s David McFadden, ranked No. 8 in the nation, to drop the match, 4-3. Rogers impressed in his first two matches of the day, however, pinning both Houston Curtis of The Citadel and Sage Heller of Hofstra in under two minutes.

Jacobe Smith came up just short in the 174A finals, dropping a 5-4 match to No. 11 Jordan Kutler of Lehigh to finish second. Smith had a nice day overall, dropping No. 19 Ben Harvey, 6-2, along with Hofstra’s Bobby Fehr in the first two rounds.

Heavyweight Derek White picked up a couple of ranked wins to advance to the 285A finals. White defeated 20th-ranked Jordan Wood of Lehigh before a convincing, 12-1 major decision over No. 9 Thomas Haines of Lock Haven. White would come up short to No. 11 Mike Hughes in the finals, however, in a 1-0 match.

Keegan Moore went 2-1 on the day to finish third in the 184A division. Moore pinned Lehigh’s Paul Dunn in just over a minute to open the event, but came up just short, 8-5, against No. 7 Zach Zavatsky of Virginia Tech. Moore would bounce back in the third-place match, sticking Army’s Jack Wedholm for a 37-second fall to wrap up his first true weekend of action as a Cowboy.

At 157 pounds, Jonce Blaylock and Wyatt Sheets both finished fourth in the A and B divisions, with Dalton Moran finishing fifth in C. At 197, Andrew Marsden finished fourth in the A division after a couple of top-20 losses.

The Cowboys open their home schedule next Sunday, Nov. 19 at 5 p.m. CT when they host No. 6 Minnesota at Gallagher-Iba Arena.


Journeymen Collegiate Classic Results

Round 1
R1 11 125A Piccininni (OKST) TF Kline (LHU) 17-1, 2:13
R1 33 141A Heil (OKST) TF Lane (LHU) 3:35
R1 21 133A Brock (OKST) WBF Haskett (VT) 4:39
R1 17 125B Werner (LHU) MAJ Wayne_Harding (OKST) 15-5
R1 49 149B Moran (OKST) DEC Mele (Leh) 10-8, SV1
R1 37 141B Magaldo (OKST) DEC Clarke (AU) 5-3
R1 47 149A Martinez (OKST) DEC Sprague (AU) 10-4
R1 65 157C Schneider (IC) MAJ Moran (OKST) 17-5
R1 84 174A Smith (OKST) DEC Fehr (HOF) 7-2
R1 76 165B Rogers (OKST) WBF Curtis (Cit) 1:41
R1 107 197A Haught (VT) DEC Marsden (OKST) 5-2

Round 2
R2 151 141B Magaldo (OKST) DEC Lipari (RUT) 6-4, SV1
R2 212 184A Moore (OKST) WBF Dunn (Leh) 1:08
R2 173 157A Weiland (Army) DEC Blaylock (OKST) 5-0
R2 175 157B Sheets (OKST) DEC Wokasch (AU) 11-4
R2 231 285A White (OKST) DEC Wood (Leh) 3-2
R2 221 197A Marsden (OKST) WBF Jakobsen (Leh) 6:33

Round 3
R3 249 133A Brock (OKST) DEC Tutolo (KSU) 7-2
R3 245 125B Ziegler (Army) WBF Wayne_Harding (OKST) 5:28
R3 239 125A Piccininni (OKST) DEC Chalifoux (Army) 10-4
R3 275 149A Martinez (OKST) WBF Perry (LHU) 0:45
R3 261 141A Heil (OKST) DEC Mutchnik (AU) 5-0
R3 287 157A Blaylock (OKST) FFT Sparkman (KSU)
R3 277 149B Moran (OKST) MAJ Morris (NCS) 19-7
R3 289 157B Lane (Leh) MAJ Sheets (OKST) 12-3
R3 304 165B Rogers (OKST) WBF Heller (HOF) 1:28
R3 312 174A Smith (OKST) DEC Harvey (Army) 6-2
R3 326 184A Zavatsky (VT) DEC Moore (OKST) 8-5
R3 345 285A White (OKST) MAJ Haines (LHU) 12-1

FIN 353 125A Piccininni (OKST) DEC Norstrem (VT) 7-3
FIN 358 125B Wayne Harding (OKST) WBF Kearny (Cit) 1:40
FIN 359 133A Parker (Leh) DEC Brock (OKST) 9-8
FIN 365 141A Heil (OKST) DEC Karem (Leh) 8-2
FIN 374 149A Martinez (OKST) DEC Chishko (VT) 8-1
FIN 368 141B Magaldo (OKST) DEC Moore (VT) 7-5
FIN 377 149B Moran (OKST) DEC Monico (KSU) 6-3
FIN 388 165B McFadden (VT) DEC Rogers (OKST) 4-3
FIN 391 174A Kutler (LEH) DEC Smith (OKST) 5-4
FIN 400 184A Moore (OKST) WBF Wedholm (ARMY) 0:37
FIN 415 285A Hughes (HOF) DEC White (OKST) 1-0



About admin (806 Articles)
Owner/Photographer for OklahomaWrestling.Org
Contact: Website