News Ticker

Cowboys Take Eight Titles at Bob Smith Open

HAYS, Kansas – The Oklahoma State wrestling team racked up eight titles Sunday afternoon at the Bob Smith Open at Gross Memorial Coliseum. To go along with the eight individual titles, the Pokes sent five other wrestlers to the finals in their respective brackets.

The Cowboys took their first title of the day at 125 pounds, as Nick Piccininni defeated teammate Eli Hale, 9-4, in the finals. Piccininni was strong throughout the day, racking up three bonus point wins in as many matches on the way to the finals with a pair of technical falls and a major decision. Hale picked up three wins Sunday as well, including a first-period fall in the first round over Cannon Randle.

It was another all-Cowboy final at 133 pounds, with redshirt sophomore Kaid Brock defeating Gary Wayne Harding by way of 13-3 major decision to claim the title. The win capped off a 4-0 day for Brock, who tallied a pair of falls to bring his season total to four. Harding picked up three wins on his way to the finals, including a first-round fall and a 19-1 technical fall over Adam Ludwin in the semis.

Dean Heil claimed the 141-pound title to stretch his career win total to 104 and his win streak to 54. Heil knocked off Fort Hays State’s Brandon Ball, 5-3, in the finals to follow up a fall and tech fall in the first two rounds, and a 7-4 victory over teammate Kaden Gfeller in the semis. Gfeller would finish third, dropping Pratt’s Kevin Kissane, 14-7, in the third-place match.

Competing unattached, Boo Lewallen claimed the title at 149 pounds, edging teammate Geo Martinez, 7-6. Lewallen stormed through the bracket with three tech falls on the day to finish 5-0. Martinez was impressive as well, racking up two falls and a tech fall in his first three rounds before knocking off fellow Cowboy Tristan Moran, 7-2, in the semifinals. Moran went on to finish third, capping off a 5-1 day in which he tallied a pair of first-period falls.

Jonce Blaylock streaked through the 157-pound bracket to claim the title. Blaylock went 5-0 on the day, including a 3-2 victory over Nebraska’s Zemua Baptista in the finals and a pair of major decisions.

At 165 pounds, Chandler Rogers picked up three falls—including two in the first minute—to advance to the finals. In the finals, Rogers won by forfeit over Joe Smith, who had an impressive day as well competing unattached. Smith racked up a fall and a couple of major decisions to wrestle his way into second.

Andrew Marsden claimed the 197-pound title with a second-period fall over Fort Hays State’s Rakim Dean in the finals. It was Marsden’s third pin of the day, with the first two coming in the first period.

Heavyweight Blake Andrews claimed the eighth title of the day, racking up three major decisions and two falls in his five matches before dropping Newman’s Dalton Weidl in the finals. Redshirt freshman Ethan Andersen took third with a 3-2 decision over Adams State’s Tuli Laulu.

Jacobe Smith finished second at 174 pounds, who came up short to Nebraska freshman Mikey Labriola, 7-6, in the finals. En route to the final, Smith racked up a fall, tech fall and major decision to finish the day 3-1.

Freshman Keegan Moore finished third at 184 pounds after a slip-up to Noel Torres in the semifinals. Moore, who opened the event with a pair of first-period falls, earned wins over OSU teammates Bear Huges and Austin Harris in the backdraw to finish the day 4-1. Harris notched a fourth-place finish.





About admin (806 Articles)
Owner/Photographer for OklahomaWrestling.Org
Contact: Website