Class 6A tournament: Choctaw overcomes Broken Arrow for 6A crown

Choctaw reclaims 6A championship, plus news and notes on BA, Sand Springs, Dylan Schrickram, Jaxen Gilmore and more

Broken Arrow’s Reece Witcraft atoned for a dual state loss to Chcotaw’s Colt Newton, and all of a sudden things were getting really tight.

Witcraft, who lost 8-5 to Newton in the dual state finals two weeks ago, caught Newton in a vulnerable position, and pinned him to the mat at 3:22 in the 126-pound finals at Jim Norick Arena on Saturday night. In an instant, Broken Arrow was within 2 ½ points of catching Choctaw for the Class 6A crown.

Then the Yellowjackets kicked it into high gear.

Connor Holman won the 138 title with a 3-2 ultimate rideout victory for Choctaw, and then Yellowjackets beat Broken Arrow at both 160 and 170 pounds to secure their second title in three years.

“Connor works hard every day all season long,” Choctaw coach Benny Coleman said. “Having been runner-up twice, he deserves to finish his senior year as a state champion.”

He did and Jaryn Curry (160) and Zane Coleman (170) joined him. Curry, an Oklahoma commit, edged out Broken Arrow’s Caleb Wise, 5-4, and Coleman secured Choctaw’s championship with a win by fall at 1:17 over Broken Arrow’s Bryce Mattioda.

Choctaw finished with 138 points, and Broken Arrow, thanks to titles at 195 and 220, was second at 129.5. At 195, Potter knocked off Choctaw’s Easton Rendleman, 1-0, and junior Zach Marcheselli picked his third straight individual championship with a 3-2 win over Putnam City’s Mason Lancaster.


6A news and notes

Schrickram claims state crown: The odds were stacked against Ponca City’s Dylan Schrickram last season. In the 132-pound semifinals, he faced the buzzsaw known as Sand Springs’ Daton Fix, and it resulted in Schrickram having to wrestle for third in the consolation bracket.

He succeeded, but he still wasn’t satisfied.

“The one thing I hate most is to lose,” Schrickram said. “That’s why I wanted to win a state title so bad.”

Sure enough, he accomplished that as a senior. He knocked off Choctaw’s Gabe Johnson, 7-3, in the 132 finals on Saturday.

“Standing on the podium felt pretty good,” said Schrickram, who beat Johnson all three times he faced him this season. “But the best moment was when I got my hand raised on the mat.”

Schrickram’s title was significant for two reasons: 1. It was the 88th individual champion crowned for Ponca City, and; 2. He set the school’s pin record with 33, breaking the previous mark held by Jared Rosholt.

“I had two main goals this season,” Schrickram said. “One of them was to beat the pin record in Ponca City, and other was to win a state title. So it felt really good to do both in the same weekend.”

Tigers take 3 golds: Broken Arrow’s Reece Witcraft atoned for his loss to Choctaw’s Colt Newton at dual state by pinning him at 3:22 in the 126 finals.

“Winning this year was one of the best feelings I’ve ever had, because I knew I had a gap in my wrestling,” said Witcraft, who finished second at 126 as a sophomore at Coweta in 2017. “I overcame it and became a better wrestler from it.”

In arguably the deepest weight division in any of the weight classes, Witcraft advanced to the finals with two straight victories by major decision. Then he extracted some revenge after losing by decision to Newton at dual state.

“After losing to Newton, it exposed me to what I needed to work on,” Witcraft said. “I learned from it and became better.”

Witcraft wasn’t alone atop the podium for the Tigers. Junior Zach Marcheselli won his third straight championship with a 3-2 win over Putnam City’s Mason Lancaster at 220, and Gavin Potter knocked off Choctaw’s Easton Rendleman, 1-0, at 195.

Two Tigers — Caleb Wise (160) and Bryce Mattioda (170) — finished as runners-up in their weight divisions, and Jared Hill (106), Blake Gonzalez (132) and Brady Mattioda (152) all picked up bronze.

Sandites win 2 titles: Sand Springs left State Fair Arena with two state champions, both of whom will be back to compete for championships again in 2019.

Freshman Carter Young capped off a 40-1 season with a 3-0 win over Yukon’s Studd Morris in the finals. Young was the only freshman to win a title in 6A this season.

Junior Riley Weir won his second straight championship, taking down Mustang’s Tucker Owens 3-1 in the 113 finals. Weir won his 2017 crown at 106.

The Sandites also had junior Kaleb Tabor in the 152 finals, but he came up short in a 5-3 decision against Jenks’ Drake Vannoy.

Outstanding honors: Yukon’s Jaxen Gilmore was recognized as Class 6A’s Most Outstanding Wrestler at the state tournament. Gimore capped his career at Yukon with a 16-3 major decision win over Mustang’s Tate Picklo.

Gilmore was one of six seniors to win a championship in 6A, but he was the only one to win by more than a decision.

Owasso coach Mike Ryan was named the class’ Most Outstanding Coach, too. The Rams took six wrestlers to the state tournament, and JD Johnson, at 182 pounds, secured the school’s first individual championship since 1983. Zeke Washington finished second at 120, Baylor Smith was third at 138 and Nolan Miller placed fourth at 160.

Class 6A

1. Choctaw 138; 2. Broken Arrow 129.5; 3. Sand Springs 78; 4. Mustang 69; 5. Owasso 56.5; 6. Jenks 44; t7. Ponca City 38; t7. Yukon 38; 9. Edmond North 34.5; 10. Putnam City 33

106: Carter Young (Sand Springs) dec. Studd Morris (Yukon), 3-0

113: Riley Weir (Sand Springs) dec. Tucker Owens (Mustang), 3-1

120: Laif Jones (Bartlesville) dec. Zeke Washington (Owasso), 3-0

126: Reece Witcraft (Broken Arrow) fall Colt Newton (Choctaw), 3:22

132: Dylan Schrickram (Ponca City) dec. Gabe Johnson (Choctaw), 7-3

138: Connor Holman (Choctaw) dec. Peter Rolle (Ed. Memorial), 3-2 UTB

145: Jaxen Gilmore (Yukon maj. dec. Tate Picklo (Mustang), 16-3

152: Drake Vannony (Jenks) dec. Kaleb Tabor (Sand Springs), 5-3

160: Jaryn Curry (Choctaw) dec. Caleb Wise (Broken Arrow), 5-4

170: Zane Coleman (Choctaw) fall Bryce Mattioda (Broken Arrow), 1:17

182: JD Johnson (Owasso) dec. Lane Newlin (Ponca City), 2-1 TB

195: Gavin Potter (Broken Arrow) dec. Easton Rendleman (Choctaw), 1-0

220: Zach Marcheselli (Broken Arrow) dec. Mason Lancaster (Putnam City), 3-2

285: Christian Arriola (Putnam City) dec. Caulin Poole (Choctaw), 3-2 UTB

6A winners

Freshman: Carter Young,

Sophomore: Laif Jones, Drake Vannoy,

Junior: Riley Weir, Reece Witcraft, Zane Coleman, Gavin Potter, Zach Marcheselli,

Senior: Dylan Schrickram, Connor Holman, Jaxen Gilmore, Jaryn Curry, JD Johnson, Christian Arriola